• Tibshelf Parish Council Rotator
  • Tibshelf Parish Council Rotator
  • Tibshelf Parish Council Rotator

Welcome to Tibshelf Parish Council

Tibshelf, and the surrounding areas, have had a colourful and varied past and have been important for mining, quarrying, medicinal springs and horticulture.

 

In 1550 several shallow mines, one of which was owned by Bess of Hardwick, were opened in the area, starting a trend, which was to see coal mining overtake agriculture as the main industry.

 

By the 19th century, two deep mines were in operation and a main line rail network developed to support the transport of both passengers and coal.

 

Tibshelf’s claim to fame was also based on the fact that Britain’s first inland oil well was sunk on the outskirts of the village. In recent years the village economy has changed radically with the closure of the local collieries and the railway.

 

Today the village provides good educational and leisure facilities, and a pleasant rural home for 3400 people within a short distance of the Peak District National Park, Sherwood Forest and The Dukeries. Because of the close proximity of the M1 motorway, and the links to the west provided by the A38, Tibshelf is ideally situated for commuting to Derby, Nottingham, Sheffield or even further a field.

 

Further information about Tibshelf can be found on the Tibshelf Past and Present section of this website

 

Tibshelf Parish Council normally meets on the third Tuesday of every month except August in the Parish Meeting Room behind the Village Hall on High Street at Tibshelf. You can find the dates of all our meetings on the Meetings section of our website.

 

NEWS FOR APRIL

 

Derbyshire County Council are looking for people with previous caring experience to foster 11-18 year olds. Go to our Newspage to find out more

 

______________________________________________

 

The next meeting of Tibshelf Parish Council is the Annual Meeting and will be held on:

20th May 2014

_______________________________________________

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PARISH COUNCIL OFFICE WILL BE

CLOSED ON THURSDAY 17TH APRIL 2014 and will

RE-OPEN ON TUESDAY 22ND APRIL

 

______________________________________

Upcoming Meetings 2013/2014

 

AUDIT COMMITTEE

14/01/14 - Tuesday 14th January 2014

AMENITIES AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

24/09/13 - Tuesday 24th September

10/12/13 - Tuesday 10th December

25/03/14 - Tuesday 25th March 2014

VILLAGE HALL COMMITTEE

03/09/13 - Tuesday 3rd September

05/11/13 - Tuesday 5th November

28/01/14 - Tuesday 28th January 2014

11/03/14 - Tuesday 11th March 2014

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

08/10/13 - Tuesday 8th October

03/12/13 - Tuesday 3rd December

01/04/14 - Tuesday 1st April 2014

COUNCIL MEETINGS

17/09/13 - Tuesday 17th September
18/10/13 - Tuesday 18th October
19/11/13 - Tuesday 19th November
17/12/13 - Tuesday 17th December

21/01/14 - Tuesday 21st January 2014

18/02/14 - Tuesday 18th February 2014

18/03/14 - Tuesday 18th March 2014

15/04/14 - Tuesday 15th April 2014

Annual Parish Council Meeting

20/05/14 - Tuesday 20th May 2014

 

Previous Meetings 2013/2014

 

AUDIT COMMITTEE

14/05/13 - Tuesday 14th May

AMENITIES AND ENVIRONMENT

11/06/13 - Tuesday 11th June

VILLAGE HALL COMMITTEE

25/06/13 - Tuesday 25th June

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

17/07/13 - Wednesday 17th July

30/07/13- Tuesday 30th July

COUNCIL MEETINGS

21/05/13 - Tuesday 21st May
18/06/13 - Tuesday 18th June

25/06/13 - Special Council Meeting
23/07/13 - Tuesday 23rd July